• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Photographer in need of some advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

C4D

Hello

I am a pro photographer and I am ready to build a new image editing machine.
I have decided to go with a Dual Core system and chose to purchase the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester. My question is what motherboard do you guys recommend? I usually like and use the DFI boards but I cant find one that works well with the X2 but also takes AGP video cards because I will be using a matrox PH-A8X256 Parhelia 256MB.

Also I plan on overclocking this machine, so can you guys give me tips on a good power supply for a reasonable price, also looking for a simple and clean case for this system and also some fan cooling advise

I have not ordered this machine yet, I have about $1600 to spend on the whole system (no monitor). If you guys have any other suggestions or routes to go for building a photo editing machine please let me know, I would really appreciate the advise

thanks for your time

-Mark

DFI LANPARTY UT nF3 ULTRA-D is the best AGP OCing board. But it's been having a lot of problems with some broken resistor, so unless your an expert, don't go for DFI.

The MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Motherboard has had pretty good reviews in terms of video editing and such. But I think the EPoX EP-9NDA3+ Motherboard has better OCing capabilities.

MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Motherboard $116.97
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core Processor $539.00
OCZ PowerStream 520W $109.99
OCZ 2GB PC3200 DDR DIMM Dual Channel Platinum Memory $262.00
Maxtor MaxLine III w/16mb cache 250GB Hard Drive $141.19
Antec P180 ATX Mid Tower $111.30

Total: $1279

Still more then enough leftover for heatsink or extra fans. Heck, toss in an extra $100 and you can do some great watercooling, lol.