• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Memory can't run 1T timing at stock speeds/timings. Do I have a right to RMA?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KillrBuckeye

I'm new to memory overclocking, but my Crucial Ballistix PC3200 (2x512MB in dual channel) won't run 1T at the rated timings of 2-2-2-6 at the stock speed of 200 MHz. Prime95 fails almost instantly. The memory runs fine at 2T, but can only overclock to about 215 MHz, regardless of timings. Do I have a right to RMA this memory? I don't see anything about manufacturer's specs when it comes to 1T/2T mode. I thought 1T was normal for 2 sticks in dual channel. Is this not correct?

I called Crucial and asked them that very question and they said I could RMA my Tracer. But they doubt its the modules fault, but more a compatibility issue.

I dont know how picky that Asus board is though, when it comes to memory.

if it's not a known compatibility issue then you should be able to rma. Contact the vendor and see what they say. If they haven't listed any known compatibilities issues then I'd think a rma is in order.

Usually this is the fault of the memory... but that Asus board is a bit out of style... It could have a 1T/2T problem... I agree with the others.. Mainly, make sure the board can run memory at 1T in the first place, and there are no common bios bugs.

nicknomo said:
Usually this is the fault of the memory... but that Asus board is a bit out of style... It could have a 1T/2T problem... I agree with the others.. Mainly, make sure the board can run memory at 1T in the first place, and there are no common bios bugs.