• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Thinking of reinstalling Windows

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gig-O-Ram

I am having some problems with my DSL connection speeds, and I am thinking of reinstalling windows as a possible fix. See here for info on that specific problem.

However, I have never done a complete reinstall before and I have a few questions on the subject. I have a BitWare Voice/Fax/Data disc that has Modem drivers, IE, Adobe Acrobat and a few other things. Plus I have the Windows Pro disc itself.

1. Do I need to completely erase the HDD, and then do the reinstall as if it were the first time the OS was being put in?

2. I don't have any discs for most of the system components. Should I make back ups of all the system and peripheral drivers?

3. Will I need to reinstall the mobo drivers?

Please help...

basically you need to know what driver (usually the newest but not always) every single piece of hardware in your compy needs to run on.

esentially you boot from cd rom with OS disc in and its pretty much a straight road from there.

first thing I do when I format is once i get into windows I install my chipset drivers then update windows, then video card rivers then my sound card drivers.

After that I usually defragg.

then antivirus and antispyware, then the rest of programs.

your going to need to do some research if your not familiar with the components of your machine, to find out what drivers you need.

Also there's many step by step guides on the web for reinstalling windows.

GL

1. This is recommended. Installing over Windows brings nothing but problems (I know from experience). You can format the drive in Windows Setup or otherwise.