• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie - hardware advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TomD22

Registered
OK, i have decided that i want to build a computer myself this time, rather than being ripped off by PC World or the like. So i've been researching components, and planning things out. I intend to get a Athlon 64 CPU (not definite on the speed yet, but probably 3000 or 3200). I have also decided on a ATI Radeon X800 XL graphics card. With regards to a harddrive, i would love to have a 10000rpm one, but that's more money than i can justify, so i'll get a cheapish 7200rpm one, probably 120GB. And for RAM, 2x 512, keeping the option for more at a later date open.

As a complete newbie to this, i'd welcome a little advice. Firstly, upon motherboards. I don't know a lot about them, and the descriptions are tending to confuse me. Obviously i need one that will work with the components i'm planning. The CPU and graphics card i've chosen i believe have a FSB of 400mhz (correct me if i'm wrong), and so so should the motherboard?, and obviously the graphics card requires PCI-E support. I'm looking to stay at the cheap end of things, money-wise, if at all possible, and i'd be grateful if anyone can either reccommend me a particular board, or at least tell me exactly what features i'm looking for in order to support the components.

The motherboard is what i'm most stuck on at the moment, but advice on which CPU exactly, whether the graphics card is a good choice (and what brand using that chip i should buy), recommendations for harddrives and RAM, etc etc, would be most welcome. Just remembering i'm trying not to get excessive with the spending (except for the g-card, i know, that's quite expensive).