• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Win 2K Pro, corrupt profiles, how to prevent

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zak_pc

Registered
I'm having problem with my profiles getting corrupt on a relatively new build that's running Win 2K Pro. Here's my story. I'm an experienced computer person. I've been a programmer and a web designer over the years. I've updated pcs, removed/installed software, added/removed hardware, etc. I build my 1st computer a few months ago. It's components are in my signature. I'm new to building PCs but I'm an experienced computer person.

The other day I was doing some updating on my PC. I wasn't paying attention and I accidently tripped on my power cord and unplugged the machine. When it booted up I got an error message saying my profile was corrupt. I was logged on to the Admin profile. Eventually I couldn't boot up with the profile. I wanted to change some configs on my PC so I ended up blowing it out and reinstalling everything because it was now a convenient time to do it. I was just about finished installing the last bit of software when the power cord fell out, just by complete coincidence. Both times the machine was running fine before the power stopage.