• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

$1000 Dollar Budget: What to build?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Highroller

Registered
All right, I'm pretty new to building my own computer. Let me know if this would be a decent setup(and if all parts would work together!?) and what I could do differently. Since I've only got a grand, here's what I was thinking:

Case: Sunbeam Acrylic w/ 500 W PSU- $200
CPU: AMD 3700+ San Diego 64- $274
Motherboard: Asus A8n-SLI Deluxe- $165
Graphics Card: ATI All-in-wonder 9600- $129
DVD Burner: Plextor IDE- $80
RAM: Corsair 1gb (2 x 512)- $75
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.8, 250GB- $107

Also, I'd like to head towards oc'ing in the future, would these parts be good for that? Thanks.

Last edited:
Case: ??? - $200
CPU - AMD64 3000+ $145 - If you're Oc'ing save some money here they'll get similar clocks
Motherboard - DFI nF4 Ultra D $130 - Best OC'rs, no point in SLI if you're getting an ATi Card
Graphics Card - X800GTO2 I believe they can be had for $230 should flash to 850XT
DVD Burner - NEC $50 give or take a couple dollars - Dont pay extra for the name plextor NEC's are great.
RAM - OCZ Plats Rev 2 $155
Hard drive - That one should be fine.

Total: $1017

Get a good case and a good PSU. I also see no reason to spend $200. I would bump the CPU up to a 3800 X2. Get rid of the SLI board and just buy a Epox NF4 Ultra board. Try to get a better video card. Don't spend so much on a DVD burner.

Uhm, your headed in the right direction, sorta. But I'd change...just about everything you picked, lol. Maybe not the Corsair Value Ram, but if you plan to OC, you'll need something better then that.