• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking to Upgrade

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

script

Registered
First and formost I'd like to say hi to everyone here. Hi. Also I'd like to mention that I'm not an expert with computers and I don't plan on installing any parts my self.

Ok I've had my current computer( Dell 4700c :[ ) for almost a year now. it was a gift, but it's time for an upgrade considering all the games coming out.

Current Specs:

Pentium4 Processor 520 with HT technology(2.80 Ghz, 800FSB)

512 Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 400MHz(2x256M)

64MB PCI Express x16 ATi RAdeon x300SE

160GB SATA (7,200rpm) Hard Drive

160W Power supply
----

Also, like I mentioned before, I'm not good with computers and I don't know what my motherboard is. SO if someone can tell me, or tell me how to find out, many thanks.

Ok from what I can tell is:

-I need more RAM (1GB)
-New GFX card (7800 maybe)
-New Power Supply 450W+)
-I'd also like a new case (Nice one, external LCD temperature reading, good cooling.)
---------

So if someone can provide me links that would be nice. Also, I don't know how much I have to spend but I'm guessing 500$+ so any amount within that range would be appreciated.

Thanks.

DELL COMPATIBLE PSU's - HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

Dell Computers proprietary to the custom psu and case. Meaning you have to get a new psu direct from dell or from PC Power & Cooling which would be better, and for the case you cant upgrade unless you do alot of modding. If you have aim msg me at: Nathan0490 i will find the pc power & cooling 500 watt psu link and post here as well. Also let us know if you have 2 or 4 slots for ram this is important.

EDIT-

PSU-

They make one model thats compatible with the 4700....

Silencer 470 watt (520 peak) Dell PSU