• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob overclocking, what are safe voltages

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

howitzer

Registered
Hey there,

While I have been building computers for many years I really was new to overclocking and water cooling... then I stumbled on this forum and all was lost.

I have a P5WD2 (bios 606), Pentium 4D 830, OCZ Modstream 500W power supply, OCZ 533 Memory.

What are safe are reliable voltages for:

CPU Vcore
FSB Termination
MCH
ICH

I am able to hit 3.8+ and it is stable but I would like to hit 4. I wasn't sure how high I can go with the voltages before damage.

Thanks!
Marty

stang8118 said:
What type of cooling are you running?

Liquid cooling at the momemt. I am making some modifications but currently when I had it overclocked to 3.8 my temps are 43C at rest and 48-50's under load.

CPU Vcore - what ever you can keep cool. Maybe 1.5v
FSB Termination- Auto
MCH- Auto
ICH- Auto.

Auto works well on those other settings. If the mobo needs more, it will adjust them up.

BigStan said:
CPU Vcore - what ever you can keep cool. Maybe 1.5v
FSB Termination- Auto
MCH- Auto
ICH- Auto.

Auto works well on those other settings. If the mobo needs more, it will adjust them up.

Thanks! That was kinda what I wanted to know. Hey is that your 3DMark05 numbers that are leading the Pentium D processors?

I just looked at the ORB. I guess that is me. Honestly I had never looked at the 3DMark05 ORB for Pentium Ds. There are so many ppl out there with great scores it never dawned on me that I would be anywhere near the top. It's been awhile since I looked at the PCMark05 ORB, but I used to be in the top 10 on that one.

Last edited:
BigStan said: