• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling The Reservoir...???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Crispy

I was just wondering if cooling the reservoir would help cool the system? I would think it would, but I'm not a scientist either. I was just wondering if it would and if anyone has thought of a way to help do this?
I was thinking about having a Copper reservoir attached to a heatercore/radiator, on the Bottom or on a Side. Or have the res. sitting on Ice/Ice packs/Dry ice in a styrofoam cooler, but then you have to always restock.
I had a few more Ideas but can't think of them now. Well would this work and has anyone thought about this or tried this? Well when I remember the other ways I'll post back. Laterz

Why would you cool a res.? To get rid of all the system heat or to keep the water in the res. from warming up the water after it goes through the rad.?

im not expert at water cooling, im just using some common sense here...if you want to cool your reservoir to below ambiet temp, you probably would want to install the rad before the reservoir instead of after. If the rad is after the res., then there is no point since the water would already be cooler then ambient, but if you intall the rad before the res., then it will cool the water down before it is further cooled down by what ever is cooling the reservoir.