• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Radiator and GPU block for a SFF rig

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sir_pyro

Radiator question for a SFF rig

Ok, I’m working on building my second water cooled rig and need some advice. I go into more detail below, but I’d like an opinion on 120mm radiators. My other rig is an older Koolance system (water cooling for dummies!), but I have a lot of experience making Pneumatic cannons so building my next system from scratch should be a nice challenge.

The plan so far is to use a Chenming MATX-118 (same as a X-Qpack), and put a quiet but well performing water-cooling setup in it. The major heat producing components are going to be an x2 3800+ or Opty 165, on a Biostar Tforce, with a 6800GT. Over clocking wise (if the parts allow it), I’m hoping for 2.4ghz on the CPU and 430+mhz on the GPU. So, the liquid cooling setup needs to be able to handle 225 watts or so (I think).

Here’s what I have picked out for the system’s water-cooling components so far:
Swiftech Apogee
Swiftech MCP350 (Laing DDC) w/ ½” intake mod
Swiftech MCRES-Micro
3/8” ID, ½” OD tubing throughout, except between res. and pump were I want ½ ID.
GPU block (tossup between two, MAZE4 or MCW55)
120MM rad (unknown, need suggestions)
120mm fan: Yate Loon (47cfm), Vantec Stealth (53cfm), or some other (suggestions?).
Real fan controller later on, but a little Zalman one now.

Goals for the system:
With a room temperature of 20c, a 40c Max CPU temperature, 45c max GPU temperature, and quieter then a Zalman CNPS7000, artic cooling NV silencer, and a Silenx 120mm fan in the same system.