• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Outlook Express Funny Problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Scann69

I've been using Outlook Express since 2003 and i've been storing email into it without bothering much until recently i decided to see how much capacity of my HDD it has taken and to my surprise, my emails has reached 4.4GB in total.

Looking at it, i decided to delete those in the "Deleted Items" & "Sent" folder which seems most logical but it seems that the size does not get any smaller at all. In fact, it's still the same. How do i permanently delete those in "Deleted Items" and "Sent" folder to reduce the size of my total emails?

HOLY ****IN SIG! :eek:

Your sig is WAY too big man, get rid of the size=+2 and you should be all right.

Anyways, as far as your problem goes, just search for files and look for *.dbx and delete the "deleted items" file. :)

tom10167 said:
HOLY ****IN SIG! :eek:

Your sig is WAY too big man, get rid of the size=+2 and you should be all right.

Anyways, as far as your problem goes, just search for files and look for *.dbx and delete the "deleted items" file. :)

Thanx for the prompt reply. I've deleted the "Deleted Item" and that is fine but for the "Sent" folder, i intend to keep all my 2005 emails while deleting all the 2003 & 2004 emails. I've deleted the old mails in outlook express but when i go to the store folder, it still shows a whooping 1.6GB. Seems like even after i delete the old mails, the .dbx file does not get smaller in size. How do i work around this?

Hm... I'm not quite sure what you're saying.

You deleted deleted items.dbx? ...for the sent folder, you intend to keep all of your 2005 e-mails.... ok so you haven't deleted them from OE yet.