• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Via Busmaster IDE driver help needed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gav1980

Registered
system details: ATX Mainboard K7T266Pro (MS-6380), AMD Athlon XP2000+, 1.67Ghz, 1.0GB RAM

problem: very slow to boot (2mins plus) and I get found new hardware box when eventually booted. Asks for Via Busmaster IDE Drivers - what are these for? where can I find them? I don't have a disk with them on.

what I've tried: Via 4in1 driver download - does nothing, don't know what else to try!

Device manager says:
The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28)

I'm new to this so make it simple for me!!!
Cheers :)

Looking in Device Manager, which device is listed as not having the drivers loaded for it? Also, which OS are you running?

WinXP pro SP1a
In device manager under 'SCSI and RAID controllers' tab the yellow ! is on the drop down saying 'VIA bus master IDE drivers'

I've also just noticed a yellow ! on 'USB Host to Host Bridge' under 'other devices', again it says that the drivers are not installed for this device.

Is this connected in any way to my problems - all USB ports I've got are working fine but there are two on the front of the box which we couldn't connect as the wires weren't long enough to reach the motherboard.

Cheers

gav1980 said:
WinXP pro SP1a
In device manager under 'SCSI and RAID controllers' tab the yellow ! is on the drop down saying 'VIA bus master IDE drivers'
What device(s) do you have connected to the onboard RAID controller, and how are any remaining devices connected to the board?