• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best way to actively cool the Zalman Reserator 1?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

M Powered

Hey guys, I'm new to OC'ing so bare with me here.

I picked up a Zalman Reserator 1 and so far it is running smoothly, however I would like the load temp to go down a little bit. Right now it peaks at 56C, and idles at 43-44C.

There is no kinks in the tubing, and the water is warm, 84
Degrees is what my water temp reads.

The CPU block is seated with AS5 so its not the seating or the compound - what else can it be?

I can only imagine that the temperature will go up once I install my VGA block.

What is the next alternative? Stick my radiator in the fridge? Drill a hole and place it outside? Or get a big room fan to blow air on it?

Right now the tubing goes right behind my monitor, where the reservator sits.

Any ideas?

But... like the point of the reserator is to passively water cool your computer. If you want active water cooling, there are better methods. I guess you could try all those things you mentioned, but I don't think they will be as effective as someone with an active radiator setup. What are your ambients?

screw open the top of the res. and put a fan there.

Make sure you place the res. in a cool place.

Or just buy a radiator.

But... like the point of the reserator is to passively water cool your computer. If you want active water cooling, there are better methods. I guess you could try all those things you mentioned, but I don't think they will be as effective as someone with an active radiator setup. What are your ambients?