• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Pop can variation

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nvidiaOCmaster

im testing a variation of the "pop can waterblock" and was wondering if i needed thermal paste to install it i have this stuff called Copper gasket silicone sealant, suited for high tmps, will this stuff work for thermal compound? the variation,

canning jar sealer
pop can bottom
silicone sealer(really tough stuff)
really tight hose connectors
fish tank pump
a carton of smokes
4 days of work

of course i have to state, this is mt first attempt at a homebrewed water cooling system (will be tested in an old P3) , and that im really new to CPU overclocking.

no, that sealent WON'T WORK.

it traps heat IN. the reason its stated for high temps, is that it won't burn easily. And its a good insulator.

Like, this stuff would probably be put on the pipes of a pellet burner. the pipes which lead outside, to let the dirty air out. This stuff won't char, or burn like other sealents will.

Trust me, this stuff will KILL your processor, due to excessive heat.

Its highly not recommended to go without it, and would definately skew your results with watercooling.

Is it too hard to find some or you just dont want to spend any money? Apparently toothpaste is better than nothing at all.. maybe try that :)

im broke as f***,+there isnt a computer store around here, and im sorta writing an essay on free water cooling, with househole items for computers and technology. so toothpaste? like some good ol regular white paste?

it seems ill be using some diaper rash cream until i can get a ride why i have diaper rash cream, i do not kno

Please pardon me, but I'm puzzled on this one.