• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Swiftech -which CPU block

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Millzee

Hi

I'm pretty new to watercooling so please bear with me. I'm looking at Swiftech because it is available here in the UK and because it supports decent size tubing, unlike most of the Asetek stuff I've seen.

I'm cooling an overclocked FX60, two overclocked 7800GTX's on a DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI modded Ultra and so I'm also keen to cool the chipset too.

I plan to put all but the rad (either 2 or 3 x 120, probably a BlackIce Extreme) inside the case (the case to be decided).

So, with this in mind I've been looking at the Swiftech Apogee, Storm and MCW6002. I've read in these forums that the Storm is very good but the newer Apogee seems to be out of favour whilst the much older MCW6002 is described as "the best".

Given the setup described, any recommendations/comments would be welcome.

Thx

At stock speeds, most waterblocks perform close to each other. However, when actually pushing the processor in overclocking conditions, you will notice a diffence in performance from each block. The Storm by far is the best and there is still suffiencient quantity in Europe. Swiftech cut corners with the apogee and its performance isnt all that great, they seem to be pushing it since its their own design and much cheaper to make. The discontinued 6000 series are still decent blocks with much better construction than the apogee. Some people have been recommending the old 6002 series over the apogee

NoodleHead said: