• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Tube Res with 1/2 inch fittings ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

glasslicker

Does anyone know where I can locate one of these or of this design type with 1/2 inch fittings ? Everything is either 1/4 or 3/8's. Thanks in advance for any suggestions

capeplex25.jpg

I've never used one of those before but, couldn't you just replace the barbs with feren't OD barbs? Something about NPSB thread (not sure if that's the right acronym)

Just get some 1/4'' NPT (I believe) threaded barbs for 1/2'' ID tubing and change them out.
McMaster-Carr has every fitting imaginable.

Im confused.If its 1/4 inch, then throwing a 1/2 ID inch fitting on it doesnt help as the 1/4 causes restricted flow, Correct?

Maviryk said:
I've never used one of those before but, couldn't you just replace the barbs with feren't OD barbs? Something about NPSB thread (not sure if that's the right acronym)
There's NPT, which is a tapered thread, and BSPT, which is a straight thread.

glasslicker said:
Im confused.If its 1/4 inch, then throwing a 1/2 ID inch fitting on it doesnt help as the 1/4 causes restricted flow, Correct?
Incorrect, because you're assuming they're both measured in the same way. Barbed FITTINGS are NOT measured by the ID of the barbed fitting, they're mesured based on the ID of the tubing that will fit onto them.
A barb with 1/4" NPT fitting and 1/2" ID Barb will have an inner bore of 3/8" through it's whole length.
Remember that the 1/2" barb will have 1/2" ID tubing clamped onto it so the Barb itself will have an ID of 3/8".