• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What is the best tool for building a website?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GigaHertzAddict

I am an expert computer technician but when it comes to software I'm no expert at all, esspecially when it comes to building a website. I want to make my own website and I wanted your opinions on which web service to use. thanks for the advice. Last year I tried the one from yahoo, but I didn't like it very much.

Notepad. Go to htmlgoodies.com and read some tutorials in html then move on to css and see where you progress from there. Html is very easy and much more satisfying than using a program like dreamweaver or frontpage.

Marley said:
Notepad. Go to htmlgoodies.com and read some tutorials in html then move on to css and see where you progress from there. Html is very easy and much more satisfying than using a program like dreamweaver or frontpage.

Agreed. While I use Dreamweaver from time to time, Notepad is very effective. If you can commit a week to reading up on html you will be able to make anything that your little heart desires. There are plenty of online tutorials. I am sorry that I have not taken the time to provide you with some links, but they are easy to find. Also, if there is a decent book store near by you are SURE to find any number of book regarding html.

Like anything else, if you know the foundation, you are going to be a lot more effective on everything thereafter.

Good luck!

Like someone else said godaddy has good hosting, they also have a website builder you can get with your plan, although I've never tried it the demo looks user friendly.

On Windows I like notepad++, and under Linux Scribes.
They're both all-around text editors, like notepad, but with syntax coloring and lots of other usefull stuff.