• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

myregfix.com?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

shetawk

Registered
Am setting up new computer and get popup saying my registry is corrupt and to go to this website and download fix.

Is not signed by Microsoft.

Doesn't sound good, but then, I'm not an expert.

Is this a scam or legit? Thank you. :confused:

I am going to say Its the Windows Messaging service. Just go to run and type services.msc and find messanger, then hit stop and disable it from startup.

messenger

Thank you. Just did the services.msc and am waiting to see whether I get any more popups. Already downloaded, installed and ran avast and spybot.

What is the difference between spybot and adaware? Do I need both?

Tucows.com has another program w/4 stars, Spyware Doctor 3.2. Anyone ever try it? Would it do both?

Would like to do as much as possible with few programs so there is less chance of conflict since I'm not a computer genius. Thank you. L

Last edited:
shetawk said:
Thank you. Just did the services.msc and am waiting to see whether I get any more popups. Already downloaded, installed and ran avast and spybot.

What is the difference between spybot and adaware? Do I need both?

Tucows.com has another program w/4 stars, Spyware Doctor 3.2. Anyone ever try it? Would it do both?

Would like to do as much as possible with few programs so there is less chance of conflict since I'm not a computer genius. Thank you. L

When cleaning spyware off of my computer I use 3 spyware removers; Adaware, spybot, and MS spyware remover. I use three to ensure everything (or close to eveything) is removed.

The only things that AdAware has ever found on my system have been cookies, so I don't even install it anymore. The programs I run are Spybot S&D, SpywareBlaster, and sometimes Windows Defender...