• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My cooling problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Viva.la.Adam

Hey guys, this is my first thread on this forum and I am having some serious cooling problems. My computer is an AMD +3200 Venice Core, Gigabyte K8N Pro SLI mobo, 2x 512MB corsair value ram, EVGa 7800gt (PCIe of course), a seagate 200GB drive (all I remember is it runs 7200rpms), 24x Sony DVD-Rom drive, and a ATX case with the 420w power supply that came with it. As for cooling, I have a coolmaster aqua gate mini 80mm. I only have one 80mm case fan and I should have more but i haven't gotten around to buying any yet. My room stays in the mid 20s C and my PC stays on the floor, but my computer is getting to 70C at load and idling at 41 :bang head . I bought the PC from Ibuypower.com and after multiple shipping probelms (as well as they sticking the ram into a dead slot. . ) I don't think I'm ever even reccomending anyone visit their website. From reading online about the components I have, I know it should not be reaching these temperatures.If you guys could give me some tips or lead me into the right direction as to what I should do to cool this easy bake oven I would greatly appreciate it.
I also am willing to spend a few hundred on new components.

You have ONE 80mm fan! Your getting close to no airflow. Your processor should idle around 40-45C while its 45-55C under load. Your 7800GT runs at aprox 50C while idle and close to 70C under load. I'm not surprised at all by these temps. Since your posting in the water cooling thread why dont you read the stickies and poke around and set up a water cooled system.

As for your components, its up to you what you want to do. Your RAM, CPU, and power supply could all use upgrading.