• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

X1900XT water cooling heat issues

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tat2monsta

got my maze4 and zalman sinks on my X1900XT card..with a 120mm fan blowing on the sinks. also on the loop is my CPU.. now the temps have never been over 45.. but i just started playing Auto Assault. and after a while temps hit 50.. both card and CPU (same loop) and i start to artifact...my card is real hot to the touch... i took the overclock off and its still doing it.. it seems ok with everything else i play. but Auto Assault is a bit crazy..30+ cars on screen battles. could it be the GPU chip temp doing this? or is it (what i think) the ram and mosfets not being cooled enough? but surly a maze4 and ramsinks is better than the stock cooler. or does that stock cooler cool the ram and that area of the card better?

I'm open to ideas as to maybe separating the loop. so each chip has its own setup. maybe even the new DD X1900XT gpu/ram block..

would using an apogee block on CPU help drop temps and increase the flow a little? as i know the Storm is a little restrictive.. any comments welcome...i wanna play artifact free games. and as i said b4.. the games fine till it hits around 50c. then it starts to go visually poop!

Last edited:
what do the artifacts show up as?

I'm thinking it's the mem if your core is that cool and you previously did not have any core artifacts. are the zalman sinks cool to the touch? are they extremely hot?

I find that the core of my X1900XT is able to stay cool. However, the ram is what gets hot.

You could try reseating your waterblock and make sure you have your fans cranked up on your radiator.

-GearShift3r

I have a Solution for your problem. Contact ViperJohn get some of his Heatsinks or let him pimp your card.