• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water block acrylic crack?! Or i'm just paranoid?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wc_rocker

Registered
Guys,

Im new to the scene, I bought a used DD TDX, for like 20 bucks, its good condition, no cracks, just not shiny anymore.

I've heard some cases of waterblock acrylic cracking and blowing up the system. My question is how is this possible? What causes it? Screw too tight? Hot/cold effect?

Thanks.

This happened to me before on a DD TDX, I noticed a crack in the acrylic only because I was using HydrX and it made the crack noticable, it was a very slow leak like 1mL day or something. Im not sure what caused this though. Sometimes its also just scratchs in the acrylic, either way crack in your CPU block is scary :X

Found more crack signs, just hope it doesnt spread. Feels good to hear that Perium.

wc_rocker said:
Found more crack signs, just hope it doesnt spread. Feels good to hear that Perium.

Is there lots of tension on the barbs? Like is the tubing putting lots of force on the barbs? I think thats a possibility of causing cracks arround the barbs.

If I remember right the cracking is from stress, and heating up and cooling down over time. After all plexi wasn't really made for this. If your worried about it tho you can by a brass top for it.

Here's where the minor cracks are found. Crack starting from the outside, not from the barb.

untitled10li.gif

-aDaM^ said:
Is there lots of tension on the barbs? Like is the tubing putting lots of force on the barbs? I think thats a possibility of causing cracks arround the barbs.

I actually dont know as I've bought it from someone. :eh?:

I thought it was lexan not plexi glass.

Confirmed, it's made of lexan.

http://www.procooling.com/index.php?func=articles&disp=87&pg=1