• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Obligations on water cooling?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

aao_pwner

Hey guys,

I was thinking about getting a water cooling system for my rig im gonna build that is goning to have an FX60. What are my obligations if i decide to use water cooling, I have never used water cooling before so I have no idea, I herd you had to change the water every like 3 months, because of algy, but doesn't algy need oxygen to grow?

What's your guys' opinion on the FX60 anyway?

If you use anti freeze and put a drop of iadion in it that kills it so you shouldent have any problems. i just got into watercooling a few days ago and love it. even tho i got a cheap set up it cools my sempy nice.

You may have to change the water at certain intervals, but not because of algae. We use agents to kill algae. It's not uncommon to go a year w/o changing coolant. So your obligations would be to change the fluid as needed and keep your rad clean.

What water cooling kit do you suggest for a noob like me, i only want to cool the FX60 im probably going to get. Also: What risks are involved in water cooling, like i dont want the fluid leeking everywhere and screwing crap up.

well for a fx-60 i wouldent use the kit i got lol. i would stay awa from kits for that kind of cpu. i would say buy some fairly top of the line parts but im a noob still but a kit wont be your best bet. but otter could tell you what you need.

the FX-60 is 110watts so my little $50 evercool wc-301 wont cool it like it would need to be lol. my sempy is only 65watts lol