• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

DD TDX vs Storm?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SiGfever

I have the DD TDX w/brass top, will the Storm give me that much better temps and is it worth spending the money to change?
Thanks...

only you can say how much you value the improvement to dollar ratio.

if you have money burning a hole in oyur pocket then go for it. but if you are on a budget that would be an expencive upgrade for the performance since the temps will have only minor effect on your OC compared to upgrading something like ram

Thanks for the replies, I am new to water-cooling and there is so much to learn. I have really enjoyed and learned from the posts here, there are some really smart people on this forum and the fact that they are willing to share that info says a lot.

:welcome: SIG.

From what I have learned by reading posts written by those who know, like Thorilan and a few others, you may enjoy less than ideal performance while using both of those rads. The Storm really shines in a high pressure loop, and having 2 BIPs instead of one BIPII may be counter-productive as you are losing some of the pump's head. If you go for it, or have ordered it already, let us know how it turns out.

Whether the change is worth it is something only you and your wallet can decide. ;) However, I went from a TDX (in a two rad loop so I can’t say that things were optimal) to a Storm rev.1. The difference across the full range of operating temps is like night and day. Again, considering the differences in the respective loops, it’s possible that the increased performance can be at least partially attributable to other things as well, but the Storm has been a great addition to my loop in general.

thorilan said:
only you can say how much you value the improvement to dollar ratio.