• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water Cooling in New Build?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ruff_ilb

Registered
When the AM2 socket comes out, I'm going to put together a new system to the tune of a $2k budget for the entire system, minus a PSU (I already have one).

I'm going to get a case that looks like This, or at least with the same internal setup.

Given my budget, and given the case, I have two questions.

1: Should I even go with water cooling at all? Will it be worth it for my build? I'm aiming for a combination of silence and performance, and I've had cooling issues with my computer in the past. Also, I'd like to try something different and fun... I've never tried water cooling before.

2. If I should be going with water cooling, how should I set it up? I've read a few guides and reviews, and I came up with a few ideas, but I don't really know that much, despite the research I've done so far. I'd like to not spend too much, preferably under $250 for a complete setup, but I'd also like to have a setup that performs well, lasts me a long time, and is quiet.

Here's what I've been looking at:

Dual 80mm fan radiator - $36

Evercool 80mm case fan x2 - $10 ea.

Danger Den Maze 4 Acetal GPU water block x2 - $44 ea.

AX 50Z-DC12 Mag Drive Inline Pump - $75

AX MP-05 Pro LE CPU Water Block - $65

High Density Polyethylene Bay Reservoir - $10

Throw in another 15$ for misc accessories I'm forgetting, like tubing and clamps.

Water cooling total:

~$310

Thoughts: