• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P5B deluxe. A few things I would like to know

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mkorpal

There are a few things I would like to know before I get my new P5B deluxe. How easy is it to flash new bios on this board. I have never flashed bios ever so I am pretty new to it. Second, how well does the heatpipe nb cooler work. And if I decide to replace it, how would I do that with a heatpipe going to the mosfet cooler. And will the mosfet cooler work properly after I take the heatpipe off. I'm planning of running this with a 6400 and teamgroup ddr2 667 3-3-3-8 memory and a 7900 GT Ko.

mkorpal said:
There are a few things I would like to know before I get my new P5B deluxe. How easy is it to flash new bios on this board. I have never flashed bios ever so I am pretty new to it. Second, how well does the heatpipe nb cooler work. And if I decide to replace it, how would I do that with a heatpipe going to the mosfet cooler. And will the mosfet cooler work properly after I take the heatpipe off. I'm planning of running this with a 6400 and teamgroup ddr2 667 3-3-3-8 memory and a 7900 GT Ko.

Flashing the bios on this board is easy. There are several methods but what I prefer is the Asus tools in bios and using a USB flash drive. The flash drive needs to be formatted FAT32 but flashing this way is the simpliest and fastest method I have ever used.