PDA

View Full Version : Jumping to Conroe, how does this setup look?



Gabbiani
08-15-06, 01:14 AM
So I have been reading a ton on the new intels and I want one.

Newegg has
Gig DS3 + E6400 for $385 after a $25 instant rebate
And some OCZ Plat DDR2 800 for really cheap ($169 open box)

Only problems I have read are people not getting the ram to boot at 1.8V, but I could steal some of the ddr667 at work for a day to get it to boot if need be.

Posts I have read say 430ish FSB will be the limit on this board, but even 400 would get me to 3.2GHZ, so I figure I will be happy there.

Here are some questions
1- Power, I have seen a few threads saying get the $150 mega ultra chicken power supply, but I see no requirements listed on the newegg specs. Will my Forton get me anywhere? (24 pin, but dual 12V rail :(

2- Will this setup get me past 3Ghz, quicker than 20sec 1Mpi, or at least be a hell of a lot faster than I am running now?

3- Seem like a good deal?

Everything else would be reused from my sig.

bing
08-15-06, 01:26 AM
Looking at recent development, have you consider Asus ? Either P5W DH or P5B Deluxe ?

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 01:27 AM
I have seen that they perform better, but those are $250 boards yes?

bing
08-15-06, 01:30 AM
Yep, but if you're tight on funding, strict diet for few days will solve that problem right ? LOL .... j/k :D

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 01:35 AM
Lol. I can afford it, I just don't know if I can justify it. (Especially to the wife)

My goals are modest at best. I have debated just adding an x2 to my current setup. But my cheap ram holds me back so bad I hate to do anything else with it.

The DS3 still makes for a modest overclocker yes? At least better than some of the budget boards?

bing
08-15-06, 01:50 AM
Piece of cake, waived both my previous crappy 945 yellow yucky board and p5b deluxe nice looking and handsome black mobo in front of her nose while pointing that copper like heatsinks at the p5b NB and the heatpipes will make much lesser noise, and since she hates fan noise, then suddenly with a little nod it was justified ! LOL .....j/k..again :D

But seriously, was watching XS recently and lots of complains & shouting at DS3.

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 02:02 AM
^^^ I have 4 deltas in my system. What is this fan noise you speak of?

Ill check out XS in the morning and make up my mind. Any other comments are appreciated.

beau_safken
08-15-06, 04:50 AM
I wouldn't worry about the cost of a mobo...just look at my sig for the damage a new conroe can do. :D but i wont have to upgrade for a LONG!!!! time...lol

trigger_sad
08-15-06, 08:06 AM
An Asus P5W DH with an E6400 will be faster (AT THE SAME SPEED) than a DS3 and E6400. Something about the chipset having tighter timings on the P5W DH (thats why the D3 clocks higher FSBs). For example I saw a guy with a DS3 with an E6300 at 3.0 and very similar memory doin a slower superPI time than my E6300 at 2.8.

batboy
08-15-06, 09:13 AM
Which model Fortron? For a modest O/C with minimal fans and drives, your current PSU will probably be ok. But, even the AX500-A is only rated at 15 amps on both +12v rails. That's not much for a dual core and 4 Delta fans once you start cranking up 400 FSB. The OCZ Powerstream 520W is great, but if you are looking for a more reasonable priced PSU, check out the Enermax Whisper II EG465P-VE 480W which is rated 33 amps on a single +12v rail.

The E6300/DS3 combo is a pretty good deal and it should get you to 400 FSB. Although an E6300 and Asus P5B (non-deluxe) is about the same price. There is a couple threads floating around that compare the P5B to DS3.

greenmaji
08-15-06, 09:14 AM
Asus P5B Deluxe will clock as high as the Gigabyte DS3, have downward dividers so you don't need blistering fast ram to run 1:1 with high overclocks, and there is a high probiblity that the same clocks will be better performing then the DS3's clocks..

there is a slight chance the regular vanilla Asus P5B will clock as fast as the DS3 and the Asus P5B Deluxe once they update the bios, but I havn't seen results yet. Its a $160 mobo.

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 10:16 AM
My Forton is an AX500-A, but my fans, pump, drives etc are almost all run from a seperate power supply. The Forton is only running my board/chip

greenmaji
08-15-06, 10:24 AM
My Forton is an AX500-A, but my fans, pump, drives etc are almost all run from a seperate power supply. The Forton is only running my board/chip

15A 12V is low for ATI GFX's. And to be honest.. heavy overclocking on even what you had in your rig was probibly a strain :(

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 10:27 AM
^^^ Maybe why I hit a wall and it stopped responding to voltage.

Daleon
08-15-06, 10:53 AM
Man, enough with the freaking DS3 bashing yall. For every complaint I see about the DS3 I see one about a P5W DH. Why? Because they are the most popular boards.

Those that keep saying the Asus boards are faster at the same speeds as the DS3. Check here:

P5WDH vs DS3 (http://www.maxitmag.com/maxit-reviews/motherboards/asus-p5w-dh-deluxe-vs-gigabyte-ga-965p-ds3-conroe-motherboard-shootout/)

In most games and bench's the DS3 beat the P5W. Is this 100% conclusive? Hardly, but neither is one person's results folding or using one other app. Why? Because not all DS3's perform the same. Not all C2D's perform the same. Not all ram performs the same. And not every uses the exact same settings because of differences in cooling, OS install, etc.

Looking at these results, people really say you can see the P5B Deluxe or
P5W DH are noticably better than almost any other 965/975 board?

MB Shootout (http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2797&p=13)

As for the OP - I think I get an 18sec 1meg SuperPI at 3.2. I know I can tighten my timings more and probably get that down to close to 16 sec. But I haven't had much time and still waiting on more cooling to come in this week before I go nuts and try and get a stable 3.6.

Based on what you have now your 1meg should be somewhere around 33-35 seconds.

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 11:03 AM
Bingo, low 35sec times now.

Everything I have read at XS is good on the DS3. It is missing an ide channel, and sometimes memory is a pain to boot. But hell I am coming from an UltraD where everything has to be perfect.

I think I am going to do the DS3 6400 combo, and maybe a new powersuplly. I have a 400 antec at home that is @ 26A on the 12V.... but that wouldn't be any better.

greenmaji
08-15-06, 11:44 AM
Say want you want.. but the DS3 has no downward dividers.. try hitting 530FSB 1:1 with that mess/cas3 ROFLMAO.

But, if your not plaining on kicking it into high gear.. I guess it doesn't matter.
And the 6400 should help with not needing extreamly high FSB.

And didn't I say the regular P5B (btw.. the DH's fsb wall is to low for Allendales it should be taken out of the running all together) is only $160 and its an ASUS (best Intel brand board in the past), and SHOULD hit high FSB's with further bio's revisions.

hUMANbEATbOX
08-15-06, 11:48 AM
but do you really neeeed tight timings??

with the e6400 even 450fsb is 3.6ghz.........is there even much point buying super expensive ram that can do 1100mhz??

greenmaji
08-15-06, 11:53 AM
but do you really neeeed tight timings??

with the e6400 even 450fsb is 3.6ghz.........is there even much point buying super expensive ram that can do 1100mhz??

No you dont really need tight timimings.. it is low performance loss.

if you crank the Vcore up on these things they respond very well to voltage.. 4Ghz has been done on air with a E6400, likely stable around 3.7Ghz.. thats closer to 463FSB thus DDR2 925 1:1.. still plenty fast ram needed for that clock.

hUMANbEATbOX
08-15-06, 12:01 PM
No you dont really need tight timimings.. it is low performance loss.

if you crank the Vcore up on these things they respond very well to voltage.. 4Ghz has been done on air with a E6400, likely stable around 3.7Ghz.. thats closer to 463FSB thus DDR2 925 1:1.. still plenty fast ram needed for that clock.

4ghz was done only 1m stable *edit* now that i think about it, i think Andre did 16m too. :O

don't get me wrong, when winter comes, i will be putting my e6400 in my open window, hope for 4ghz++ :D :D

but for practical uses, a c2d at 3.6ghz is plenty fast, so getting cheap ddr2800 that can oc a bit is a perfectly viable option.

that won't be the route i take tho ;)

greenmaji
08-15-06, 12:12 PM
I did say stable 3.7, gave the FSB and Ram speeds for 3.7.. ;)

Assuming that would be a nice HIGH goal ;)

RangerXLT8
08-15-06, 01:00 PM
The DS3 is gona take E6400 far enough. I say to about 450mHz. The board itself is capable of 450, I don't know about the E6400.... Depends on what cooling is used.

bobburn
08-15-06, 01:11 PM
Who needs a 3.6ghz c2d anyway ;)...at stock their all beasts for the price..with even a modest OC they're all ahead of the game: 2.4ghz+ = no competition from AMD.

greenmaji
08-15-06, 01:28 PM
The DS3 is gona take E6400 far enough. I say to about 450mHz. The board itself is capable of 450, I don't know about the E6400.... Depends on what cooling is used.

the DS3 has done 530'sFSB
and the E6400 has SPI16M benched 500FSB
it just takes some Vcore ;)

3.7 is a pretty sweet goal ;)


Who needs a 3.6ghz c2d anyway ;)...at stock their all beasts for the price..with even a modest OC they're all ahead of the game: 2.4ghz+ = no competition from AMD.

Whats this additude about.. we can do weak clocks cuz AMD can't catch up???
How about just wanting the most bang for your buck?? :confused:

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 02:30 PM
I do want bang for buck, but 400 x 8 is 3200. Whish is massively faster than stock. I will push the chip as far as possible, but I won't spend money that could be better spent on other system components. I think for the goals I stated that "I" wanted to reach, this will do it nicely.

bobburn
08-15-06, 02:47 PM
the DS3 has done 530'sFSB
and the E6400 has SPI16M benched 500FSB
it just takes some Vcore ;)

3.7 is a pretty sweet goal ;)



Whats this additude about.. we can do weak clocks cuz AMD can't catch up???
How about just wanting the most bang for your buck?? :confused:



...it was a joke..wow..I'll be sure to put *WARNING THIS IS A JOKE* next time ;)...the second part was just stating that if you can't get to 3.6ghz all is not lost, you've still got a kickass cpu.

greenmaji
08-15-06, 05:20 PM
I still said twice that this motherboard should do the same work with the next few bio's updates as the DS3 with slower ram. And the cost is pretty close to being the same.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131030

I think it would be wise to do this.

Wait a few and see if gigabyte adds a downward multiplier for the ram (same as dividers on most brands boards) to there bios. (not likely)

Or Asus puts out the bio's that makes the regular P5B (linked above) bench over 500FSB (more likely)

And then get wich ever one that does that first.

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 05:36 PM
Lol, you intel guys are too serious. Don't scare me.

With DDR800 I don't plan to need downward multipliers. If they add them later then great, I can play around with higher fsb later.

1 MB GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 P965 775 - Retail
Item #: N82E16813128012 $149.99 $149.99
1 PSU OCZ | OCZ520ADJSLI 520W RT - Retail
Item #: N82E16817711002 $134.99 $134.99
1 CPU INTEL|CORE 2 E6400 2.13G 775 R - Retail
Item #: N82E16819115004 $259.99 $259.99
1 Open Box: MEM 1Gx2|OCZ DII800 OCZ2P8002GK R - OEM
Item #: N82E16820227089R $169.99 $169.99
1 DISCOUNT FOR COMBO #4765
Item #: COM $-25.00

greenmaji
08-15-06, 10:51 PM
XS atracts plenty of people that just cant seem to figure anything out, the DS3 is still a nice board.
And there is plenty of easy shweet EASY Vmods published :D (the biggest plus for me for the DS3)
http://vr-zone.com/index.php?i=3870&s=9

And if your ram is what I think it is (I dont memorize all the part numbers ;) )
does it have the black heatspreaders? if so.. thats the new D9's (D9GMH) in the $$$$ corsair that just isn't binned as hard.
So it should clock well.

Gabbiani
08-15-06, 11:27 PM
Memory (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227089R)
Nope its silver chicken wire looking stuff on the side. I know nothing about it except for its DDR800.

greenmaji
08-16-06, 01:06 AM
I don't know anything about that ram either..
Other then they don't list the voltage needed..
I would do some searching or asking the Ocz guys here for more info. on that product.. at least get the volts info.

Gabbiani
08-16-06, 10:07 AM
Found a couple of breif reviews.

Linky (http://www.bytesector.com/data/bs-article.asp?ID=621&page=2)

They are under warranty up to 2.2V.
Bytesector seemed to have no problem getting them to do 980MHZ with 2.3V.

Also on XS and some other boards people have reported that the plat will boot at 1.8V (board default) whereas the gold sticks are not booting at all for most people. Yay that works out too.

So I am excited. I am sure breaking 3Ghz will be no problem, and hopefully a lot more. I plan to cut my Pi 1M in half.

Parts arrive tomorrow, I will update after work. And thanks for the help/suggestions everyone, even if I didn't listen to it all.

Rattle
08-16-06, 12:14 PM
so this is the board to have then huh... mmm I want a E6400
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131025

hUMANbEATbOX
08-16-06, 12:26 PM
so this is the board to have then huh... mmm I want a E6400
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131025

that board is NOT the one to have with a e6400. with a max fsb of 420ish without mods, that will only get your e6400 to 3.3ish. a p5b-dlx will take the cpu up past 4ghz, if all other components can handle it.

Rattle
08-16-06, 12:33 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813131028

what is the difference between these 2 boards? the 965 and 975 chipset correct ? still trying to get the intel number scheme down lmao...
I would be happy as hell with 3.3 out of a E6400 on air, they can really hit 4ghz ?

d94
08-16-06, 12:39 PM
that board is NOT the one to have with a e6400. with a max fsb of 420ish without mods, that will only get your e6400 to 3.3ish. a p5b-dlx will take the cpu up past 4ghz, if all other components can handle it.
wait a minute are you saying it'll take the 6400 to 4ghz?!

hUMANbEATbOX
08-16-06, 12:44 PM
wait a minute are you saying it'll take the 6400 to 4ghz?!

8*500=4000.

:D

here, Andre Yang benches 32mb super pi on AIR at 500fsb. :eek:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=111081

that mobo has done over 550fsb without mods, AFAIK.

his cpu is a retail box e6400. not everyone will be able to do this on air, but i plan on it come this winter, when i have -30c outside and a big ass window to prop my case up in. :)

Rattle
08-16-06, 12:53 PM
wow man I gotta stay away E6400 is $247 shipped at ZZF although somone said the ones from the egg are clocking better....

must stay away, must not click on submit

Gabbiani
08-18-06, 05:35 PM
Well, haven't done any stability testing yet, but I am booting into windows. Will do some testing and get back with everyone later.

e6400 @ 3.2Ghz
SuperPI 1M 18.250S
32M stable 17m 10.187s

So I have met both of my listed goals. The OCZ mem has some rather loose timings, but acts like it may press higher if I decide to go there. Going to make sure this thing doesn't blue screen and get some things reinstalled.

Daleon
08-19-06, 01:52 AM
Looks good. I'm going to spend some time tommorow trying to get 3.6 stable. Got to work on getting this fan screwd down to the NB, may just have to go get a new NB cooler instead.

SeanBest
08-19-06, 10:52 AM
Looks like a nice setup. take a look at this though. Nice 6300 with an asus p5b at 3.7ghz on air...

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=112077