• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hello from Vancouver (by way of Detroit)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jd callow

Good Day,
(The Fluff)
I have been visiting this forum off and on for a while. Prior to posting any questions or making any comments (which I suspect will be few) I thought I’d introduce my self.

I’m short, fat, not much to look at and a geek of sorts since the early 80’s. On the hardware side I have built a few machines and setup a few networks, but I am no expert. In addition to being a geek I’m a moderator at a traditional photography site called apug.org, a photographer, sometime corporate weasel, and a few other odds and ends.

My involvement and knowledge of computers and networks revolves around the periphery of my business pursuits. My competency has generally been sufficient enough for me to build systems (Boxes + SW & HW) and processes (Back-up, system assurance/disaster recovery, service, etc..) suitable for specific business needs/goals (digital imaging and small – under 20 node – development groups).

Every few years I reassign ( give to my wife or use for some other purpose) my main computer and build a new one for myself. My last computer lasted 5 years. I suspect this is a record for me. I will be reusing this box ( 1.5 GHz P4 wiliamette, 1 gig ram) as a Linux server (Apache and MySQL).