• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Beginner overclocking a D975XBX w/ 6600

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

svirfnebli

So a little background first... I'm a long time Computer User (18-20 years) and have good comprehension of networking / communications / OS functionality. I've built maybe 30 computers from the ground up (starting with 486's) , and installed and troubleshooted Mac O/S's, IBM OS2 Warp, Windows 3.1, NT 3.51, NT4.0, Win 2k, XP and now vista. So basically, I am not a 12 year old novice..

That being said, I *AM* a complete noob at overclocking and I am finding difficultly finding good resources to learn the tricks of the trade from. I'm trying to build a great overclocked machine for playing BF2 and some video processing work. I've got a good rig for overclocking, and have started the process but I dont know where to go from here.. More below.

Here is my Rig:
Intel D975XBX Rev 305
Intel Conroe 6600 Retail Box.
2 x 1gig of Corsair XMS2 800 MHz / PC2-6400 - CL4 Ram
X1900 Crossfire edition
Corsair Nautilaus Water Cooling CPU system
HP Lightscribe DVD RW.
Creative X-Fi Platinum.