• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Yet another "I'm building a rig and need advice" thread

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Behemoth71

Registered
Hello All,
I've been a long time lurker on these forums since I first got it in my head to build my own computer. I've nursed an old Dell for about as long as she'd boot, LOTS of part changes and upgrades up to the cap of the motherboard's capacity later and, well, she's just about ready to bite the dust. So I'm coming out of the shadows to get the prelims I need to get started on my new machine. I'm a grad student and am not rolling in dough but I worked a bit this summer and my stipend has given me a bit; anyways the short of it is, I've got roughly 1400 bucks to work with. I've already blown 200 dollars on the CM830 case my heart wanted when I started thinking of this endeavor (before my brain could talk me out of such a pricey case). So now, I'm around 1200 bills. I put this thread in the motherboard section because that's the life blood of a well built, long lived rig. I'm looking at the Asus p5b-e for its host of options and because overclocking is in my future bar none. I was going to choose the e6300 and save some scroll until the prices started to plummet and I could upgrade, but I've decided to run with the semi-Big Boys and get the e6600 due to its 4md cache. Crikes! this is boring to write, probably worse to read, so here's the list:

Case: Stacker 830 (Bought)
cpu: E6600
Vid: evga 7900gto (Bought)- (I was an avid gamer before going back to school) (bought)
Motherboard: Asus p5b-e or the P5b-dlx sans wifi (the whole reason for the threads locale)
Ram: Corsair XMS2 2gb w/ EPP- (bought)
Sound: I like the creative X-fi, but I think the onboard sound of the Mb will do fine for the mean time.
Power: OCZ 700 Xtreme gamer (Bought).