• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

965p-dq6 vs 965p-ds3

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

siavash_s_s

im a noob making my first computer and am wondering what the difference between these 2 motherboards ( 965p-dq6 or 965p-ds3) is and which is better for me. Im thinking ill get.

Intel E6600 Duo2
Corsair DDR2 5 5 5 12 2gb
and probably, if i cant find anything better, maybe someone could refer one, nvidia GT 7900 GFX card.

The DQ6 I believe has more/better features, plus a bigger pricetag. DQ6 has 2x PCI Express X16 slots that support Crossfire, DS3 only has one X16 slot (but 1 extra PCI slot). DQ6 has better onboard audio w/ more features, more SATA connectors (8 on DQ6, 6 on DS3), quad BIOS (DS3 has a dual BIOS), heatpipe cooler on the north/south bridge (probably a little better than the regular heatsinks on the DS3's chips)...

But, both use the same chipset, and are both made to be highly overclockable.

I went with the DS3, because I don't plan on doing Crossfire/SLI for a while longer, and the price was also much lower than the DQ6. Also, I only have 2 SATA harddrives, and my DVD drives are IDE. 6 SATA connections is more than enough for me. On the other hand, the DQ6 has the IDE connection placed better, I really don't like where they put it on the DS3. Anyway, check em out on Gigabyte's website, and compare em for yourself to see which layout/feature list better works for you:

DQ6
DS3

Last I looked, the DQ6 went for around $225, and the DS3 went for around $145 (on Newegg).