• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New System,To water cool or not?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kbanny

I've been pondering water cooling for some time now, roughly 4 years when the biggest fear was leaks, and it wasn't so uncommon for them to take place.
First has this changed much? I am usually very resourceful when it comes to figuring out what I want AND understanding it, however I don't know where to begin with watercooling.

I have read most of the stickies.
I have done a couple searches here and there.
I have read a few reviews on kits.(As well as posts mentioning to stay away from kits)

I have a tt armor /w 25cm and extra harddrive cage /w 120mm
e6600
p5w-dh
2gig g.skill pc6400
ocz-gamextreme 700w
fsp-boosterx 3 300w
and Plan on getting an 8800 gts

I am a newbie when it comes to working with metal.
I really don't want to have to modify my case unless it's low risk.
I don't care about noise.
I just don't want to be heat limited in my oc'n :)
I have a dremel.
I can spend roughly $250.00 on extra cooling.

I would greatly appreciate any set ups or even kit suggestions that I could look into further to get a better understanding of the technology involved and why it's better than xxx. This is going to be for CPU only unless you all think it's pretty low risk to do gpu as well for a first timer since I have never modified a video card, but I am a fast learner providing I can google a few decent guides :)

I can't really afford to replace any of these parts if I mess this up heh.Also I'd rather ask here since I value this forums general opinions more so than any reviewer

edit: