• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What speed DDR2 do I need?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mike89

I'm new to DDR2, know nothing about it really.

I'm thinking of switching to a Core Duo 6600. I know it overclocks well. I'm thinking of a modest overclock on it to around 3 gig as it seems that's pretty easy to get.

I know I will have to switch over to DDR2. What speed DDR2 do you guys recommend for me to get a decent overclock? I'll be going to 2 gigs (2x1024).

If anyone wants to add a motherboard recommendation to the mix, I'm listening. Thanks.

DDR2 is not all that different from DDR ram, it just runs at higher frequencies and generally has looser timings. Basically your stock fsb will be 266 so technically you would only need some ddr2-533 (pc2-4200) to run at stock. Most people tend to get stuff that will clock higher such as ddr2-800 (pc2-6400) so they can push their fsb up and keep it 1:1 with the ram.

You will have a 9x multiplier with the 6600. To reach 3ghz you would only need to push your fsb to 333, giving you 2997 mhz. That would mean you could get away with some ddr2-667 or pc2-5300 to reach your said goal.

Personally I would recommend some ddr2-800. That way you can reach 400 fsb and run 1:1 for sure if you would want/need to and if you get some decent ram you can most likely overclock it as well.

As far as a mobo recommendation, I know a lot of people suggest getting the intel 975 chipset (Asus P5W-DH DLX) for the 6600's and up and for the 6400's and down the general suggestion is the intel 965 chipset (Asus p5b deluxe, Gigabyte ds3). However, many people run a 965 chipset with the 6600's so it will depend on what features you are looking for, etc. Also if you want to go sli then you may want to look at the nvidia 680i chipsets.

My $0.02 for you!

Last edited: