• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

80mm Rad watercooling?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

c0dec

Hi,
Im new to watercooling so please bear with me. Looking to move over to water cooling for my CPU but dont have the money for a new case to fit a 120mm at the rear at the moment. My current Coolermaster case only has space for an 80mm fan at the rear so for now this will have to do.

I was looking at the Asetek WaterChill KT03A-L20 (80mm Rad) (03-L-6012) kit from overclock.co.uk:

http://www.overclock.co.uk/product.php?productid=17968&cat=440&view=rel

I have found various other 80mm kits around from around £50 upwards but from the look of reviews ive been reading Asetek seem the way to go for around this price range and i would rather pay a little extra for the better overclocking ability.

Dan

You could always mount the Rad on top of the case? Just browse around through the WC section and you can see a lot of great examples. I've read in most cases that a 120x1 Rad > 80x2 Rad. I was wanting to try a 80x2 Rad in a case myself but haven't got around to it.

You might as well stick to air because with an 80.1 rad you are not going to see any better temps than on a good air cooler. You may even get better temps with air (Ultra 120, Tuniq Tower, Scythe Infinity).

Mount a 120.2 radiator on top of your case. You'll be a much happier camper that way.

Unless you only plan on cooling more than just you CPU then a 120.2 rad is not really needed. I used a single 120mm rad for my s754 3400+ and I know that ran hotter than any new chip.

^^I agree, a single 120.1 radiator should be fine, but the bigger the radiator you get, the greater the performance and the less amount of airflow (and therefore noise) you'll need to achieve a designated temperature.