• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

die dimensions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

weisse

Registered
Hello. The die sizes of the Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800 (dual-core) and AMD Athlon 64 FX-62 are listed, respectively, as 143 mm^2 and 230 mm^2 at several websites. Assuming the dies are rectangular, not square, what are the dimensions of the rectangles? Can someone take measurements (preferably with calipers) for me ASAP? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I'm an engineer designing a heat sink. I need to know the dimensions because they are an important factor in the thermal spreading resistance from die to IHS. AMD and Intel documents have drawings of the IHS's but not of the dies. AMD tech support says this die info is proprietary. I'm not sure where the 143 mm^2 and 230 mm^2 come from originally, but they're the most common values listed on the Web so I'll cautiously accept them. My understanding is that gamers often remove the IHS to directly mount a water block, so I thought someone might be able to help. Maybe someone out there has at least a ruler.

I have an A64 DTR Clawhammer 3000+.
It's die size is approximately 18.5mm X 12.5mm (I'd guess that it's the 230mm² one).
Since that's the computer I'm using, It's an estimate I measured from the thermal paste track on the waterblock I just removed.

The 18.5mm dimension is perpendicular to a line connecting the two hold-down bolts.

Since it's a DTR (desktop replacement) chip, it never had a heatspreader.
Being that it's the larger of the two core dimensions you have, I'd say shoot for that and they'll all be covered. :thup:

Last edited:
No prob. I would've pulled off my waterblock and given more accurate measurements, but the battery in my calipers is dead.

:welcome: to the forums, M8