• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Done with Water Cooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

barryware

Registered
I am sure I will get flamed but over the weekend, I had another what I thought to be a pump failure (again). I have been playing around with water cooling for a couple of years now.

Over the couple of years, I used this forum for selecting the right additives, hoses, sizing, and so one. This is a wonderful forum for this information and a lot of knowledge here.

Over the same years, to me anyway, it seems to be a lot of work, care, and expense in maintaining a loop. Air cooled - just blow your rig out with compressed air once in a while. If you do have a fan failure, you can just run down to you favorite computer supply house, buy a new fan and you are back in business. (Hard to fine W/C parts around here. Mostly have to mail order.)

It is cool (no pun intended) to impress your guests when you show them your water cooled rig with a see through side panel, lots of lights, the water tubes with the glowing coolant, flow indicators, temperature monitoring, and other things that glow. Then you lie and tell them that it is the fastest computer on the planet and water cooling is a necessity, not a luxury. Seems that you friends always believe you. :)

Back to my problem.

During the night, the computer started beeping. It was a warning that the processor is getting too hot. Not to the shut down point, just at the warning point.

I looked at the flow indicator and it was just barely moving. I thought it was the pump (again). I shut down the rig and thought I would change out the pump the next morning (after some more sleep). I have always had a spare after the first failure.