• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PRIME Don't Place Much Faith In It?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dfox

Someone told me this:

AruisDante said:
That's a CPU error IRRC. If you get a RAM error it gives you a much longer message.

But really, prime stability means nothing to me. If it can do what I want without crashing, I don't care if it fails instantly. So don't place too much value on prime stability, test it by doing what you'd actually want the thing to do.

My reply:

I thought people SWEAR by PRIME, that if you get any errors then there is a miscalculation on the hardware, and it's not running correct.

See being somewhat of a PRIME newbie in understanding it this way I don't really know, but I'm not a newbie as far as the program is concerned, I've known it for years.

Well the thing is I ran PRIME on my box one time without any overclock, and with it all stock, and from what I can tell if someone has a stock system then PRIME isn't going to give errors, and if it does that means you have bad hardware.

I don't want to ruin my CPU if it's giving me errors. I thought the hardcore overclocking geeks swore by PRIME, and if you get an error, then it's not correct, and you fix it till it doesn't give you an error.

Anyhow as far as killing my CPU is concerned the volts are at 1.5 and it runs cool, 43c idle and 50c loaded with PRIME. So maybe as far as PRIME is concerned even though it gives an error if I can game and never crash and the box seems to run stable, and I have the CPU cool enough maybe it's ok?

THANKS

DasFox said:
So maybe as far as PRIME is concerned even though it gives an error if I can game and never crash and the box seems to run stable, and I have the CPU cool enough maybe it's ok?

THANKS

If you ignore, then a BSOD will be around the corner! :eek: :temper: