• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Seeking shopping list recommendations

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wombat778

Registered
Since you guys helped me get my CPU temps under control (http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=494089), I thought I would get some help moving to water. I have never done watercooling before, so I could use some help in identifying all the parts I need for my loop.

Current Setup:

CPU: QX6700 (cooled using Tuniq Tower w/ AS5)
GPU: Single 8800gtx
MB: Intel Bad Axe 2
Mem: 2x1gb PC2-8000 Crucial Ballistix
PSU: 850W Silverstone Zeus
HD: 1x74gb Raptor, 2x300gb Maxtor

Current Temps: ~45C idle, ~66C under load.

Budget: $250 - $450.

($250 has been wife-preapproved. I am sure I could get $350. I could _probably_ hit $450 if I beg enough)

Current Shopping List:

Cpu block: New Swiftech CES block (or Swiftech Apogee) - $50
Gpu: EK-FC8800 GTX full cover waterblock - $120
Pump: MCP355 w/ Petra Top and EK 1/2" barbs - $100
Rad: Undecided (MCR-220? BI-GTS 240?) $50
Reservoir: Swiftech Micro reservoir: $20
Tubing: 10ft Tygon 1/2" ID (3/4" OD) - $30
Clamps: Worm drive clamps - $5
Fans: Yate Loon 70CFM fans - $12
Total: $387

Does this sound like a reasonable setup? Here are a few specific questions:

1) Is a 2x120mm rad is sufficient for the heat from both a quad-core and a 8800GTX? My case does not have room for a 3x120mm rad, but I do have room for TWO 2x120mm rads.

2) Are 70cfm fans sufficient? Should I be looking at higher airflow fans?

3) Is the MCP355 w/ Petra top overkill for this setup? Should I be looking at a MCP655 instead?

4) Are the tubing diameters good? Should I go with smaller diameter tubing (either ID or OD)? Is the Tygon a waste of money?