• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

painting ram heatspreader

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

lekyiscool

hi i think im going to buy OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL5-5-5-12 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit but plan on painting the heatspreaders is this a good idea if not is there anything else i can do to change the color of the heatspreader

last question is this ram good for overclocking a e6400 (im a noob)

thanks alot

if you do paint them use high heat paint but i think if you paint them they will get hotter because with the paint they cant dissipate heat faster. you could also try just changing the heat spreaders to a different color and they would still dissipate heat

i dunno for sure though might want to get some more opinions

yea im a little reluctant but that gold color would look gross in my future configuration

The paint will definitely affect the thermal dissipation, you might find thermal condutive paint but it may not work well for that application. Plus I agree with Zazuk, warranty goes Spllttt! Consider a wind tunnel to cover them. Something that looks cool but enhances airflow. This is where engineering meet cool modding!

does anyone have this ram is it possible to remove it and replace it with a diffierent one ?

well i was considering this over the xms2 dominators only beacuse i hear these are better for oc'ing and are better quality ? is this correct also will this give me good results with the e6400 if not i might switch ram

Painting them isn't going to hurt the heat dissipation. They are just hunks of AL, not exactly sophisticated devices. Take them off and paint them. I wouldn't do the insides but the outside won't hurt. Removing the heat spreaders voids the warranty on most RAM tho.