• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hello everyone!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Quasimojo

Registered
I've been building PC's for myself and others for many years now, but, while the prospects of OC'ing have always intrigued me, I've always opted for stability and compatability above all else and left it at that. After all, a man can only take so many calls form their brother in the middle of the night, screaming for help because their PC is overheating and failing to run for more than two minutes before seizing up or spontaneously rebooting - oh, and nevermind that pile of dirty clothes that's draped over the top of it. Heck, I'd UC family members' PC's if anything. :p

That said, I've always harbored a secret admiration for those who were able to squeeze every MHz of potential out of their systems. The idea of trying different memory timings, drive storage subsystems or even heatsink thermal pastes in the hopes of pushing that benchmark score ever higher, just seems to offer up a whole new world of opportunities for my own PC enthusiasm.

That said, a little bit about myself: I'm a 40-year-old with a wife (another factor in my very limited forays into the world of OC'ing, to be sure ;), kids and a dog. My employer tells me I'm a Computer Systems Analyst by trade, but what that really seems to mean is that I'm a Windows applications developer/database administrator/desktop and help desk technician *in addition to* being an enterprise system(s) administrator.