• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Minimum PSU requirements for WC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

smudged

Hi All,

I am considering retiring my Socket A barton (finally) and have turned my thoughts to a new build! However, this time around, as I have been promising myself for 4 years, I hope to install a WC setup with it.

The set up will be along the lines of:-

Core 2 Duo 6600
2 Gig of RAM (Prolly corsair 4,4,4,12 6400)
Nvidia 8800 GTS (320MB)
A single SATA 2 HDD (probably a samsung 500Gb) which will be paired up with another at a later date.
ASUS i965 based MB maybe the Delux with WIFI or cheaper one without.
All nicely packaged in an Antec P180.
On board sound will do.

I am hoping to hit the 360 FSB area, but I would like to keep it as quiet as I can hence the water. I think I will ease myself in with a Swiftech kit for CPU, NB and VGA and a Dual 120mm Rad.

anyway the question is.... Please can you offer me advice on the minimum output I should consider for a PSU. (I have my eye on a 620 watt from corsair or an Antec trupower TP3-650).

Cheers.

I'd say with water you could fairly easily shoot for 3.6Ghz on that E6600. (which would be 400FSB)

I think either one of those PSU's would be fine for that setup. The only power your WC loop will need is for the pump. A Swiftech MCP655 will only consume maybe 30W at the most.

So either one of those PSU's will do fine. I'm pretty sure that they are both OEMed by Seasonic. The corsair is modular, which is nice. And it's also what many people have been going with around here.

So I'd say, between the two, go with the Corsair.