• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help chosing the right memory for Asus P5AD2-E Premium

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

chocho111

Hi All,

Newbie here.
I've seen the prices on 2GB DDR2 Dual channel memory going down recently and would like to buy a pair but am lost on what exactly will work with my Asus P5AD2-E Premium motherboard. Would appreciate your kind help.

I currently have 2 x 512MB= 1024MB installed. It is OCZ with copper sinks but not sure of the exact model without having to open my PC. I think it is 533Mhz.
Would like to add 2 x 1Gb = 2GB new memory to a total of 3GB.

I've been looking at the Kingston 2Gb (2x1Gb) ValueRAM DDR2-667 Dual Channel Kit - KVR667D2N5K2/2G for under $100 canadian.
But not sure if it will work in my system?!?
Tried calling Kingston and Asus and the best I could get from them was "it might" ?!?
The Asus tech support adviced me to ask here...

He was saying I must be careful to have the same speed/latency first digit as the memory already installed on my machine.
The whole thing is very confusing and I hope someone could recommend me a solution.
If the abover memory works fine if not what else to buy in the 2 x 1Gb size that will for sure work for me with what I have so far. I am not interested in overclocking etc.

Thank you kindly.

:welcome: to the forum!

First of all, I don't believe the i925XE chipset will run different modules in dual channel mode. This means you have to choose between:
- Finding another two identical modules to the ones you have for a total of 4x 512MB = 2GB.
- Replacing the existing memory with new memory (ie: 2x 1GB = 2GB).
- Using 2x 512MB and 2x 1GB in single channel mode and losing half your memory bandwidth.

If you don't have it already, you can download CPUZ from here: http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php