• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Office 2003 or 2007?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Socket eh?

I've been using Office XP for the last 5 years, and I'm growing tired of the drab interface and dated features. I can get my hands on Office 2003 for cheap, or just buy 2007 retail, so I'd like to know if 2007 is worth extra money over 2003.

Define "cheap". All I know is that I wouldn't pay the full price (what is it, like $500?) for a copy of Office. If you can get Office 2003 for under $100 (I know a lot of universities offer it for like $20), then go with that, unless you can also get Office 2007 for under $100.

Ya, it's about $430 here, I can get full 2003 for $100. There's no real feature difference between the two?

2007 looks more like Vista... As far as features go, there's about as much difference as from XP to Vista. That being, the new one looks better.

Soichiro said:
2007 looks more like Vista... As far as features go, there's about as much difference as from XP to Vista. That being, the new one looks better.

Id disagree with that.

If you buy this one, you get word, excel, powerpoint and onenote for $121.99
and can be installed on 3 pc's.

And its much better than Office XP, I use the above at home and 2003 at work.

That's not a bad deal at all, but I noticed in one of the reviews that 2007 files are not backward compatible with previous versions of office. So I am glad he showed me this link even though I am not going to purchase it.

Socket eh? said:
That's not a bad deal at all, but I noticed in one of the reviews that 2007 files are not backward compatible with previous versions of office. So I am glad he showed me this link even though I am not going to purchase it.