• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Quick question for OC'ing my ram..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

majinwar

I decided to retest my hardware, so I have been following the OC guide and am stuck on testing my ram.

I have DDR2 PC6400 ram and in the explanation it says to set the speed to 200mhz (1:1). So I set my ram to DDR 400 in the bios to obtain the 1:1 ratio.

This is the part im stuck on... let's say i can get it to load with 250 FSB, does this mean that when I overclock everything, the max my ram can go is 500mhz? (aka 1000mhz) I feel noob that I do not remember this, but help would be appreciated! :bang head

Hi,

I'm still a noob but I'll try to help with what I've learned so far:

1:1 is DDR800 in BIOS which is 800MHz data rate, the I/O buffer works at 400MHz, and the core frequency of the memory array is 200MHz when it comes to PC6400

Here is an awesome post that helped me:

QuietIce said:
For AMD DDR2 systems (AM2/AM2+) this is correct. However, BIOS's use different ways to express the MemLimit - some are "400" for full speed (1:1), some are "800" for full speed just as DDR (939/940) BIOS's use both "200" and "400" to mean 1:1. Either way the 1:1 setting is running DDR2-800 on AM2 regardless of the BIOS representation (just as 1:1 is DDR-400 on 939/940).