• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Patriot 2X1 GB 400 Mhz timings

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

thundercat

Hi all!

i'm really new to this stuff so bare with me. i have read the sticky's about ram, nice reading. Most of the stuff is new to me and hard to understand. I just bought new memory, so here it goes.

What i would like to ask is which timings should i use with the following setup.

Mainboard: DFI lanparty UT nf3 250 Gb
CPU: AMD athlon 2400 mhz (12X200) 3400+ Newcastle
Video: Geforce 7600 GT 256

Memory: Patriot 2X1 GB pc3200 400 mhz CL3

Latency is at 3-4-4-8. Should/can i improve it by changing it, and what values should i use?

thanks for helping.

thundercat said:
Hi all!

i'm really new to this stuff so bare with me. i have read the sticky's about ram, nice reading. Most of the stuff is new to me and hard to understand. I just bought new memory, so here it goes.

What i would like to ask is which timings should i use with the following setup.

Mainboard: DFI lanparty UT nf3 250 Gb
CPU: AMD athlon 2400 mhz (12X200) 3400+ Newcastle
Video: Geforce 7600 GT 256

Memory: Patriot 2X1 GB pc3200 400 mhz CL3

Latency is at 3-4-4-8. Should/can i improve it by changing it, and what values should i use?

thanks for helping.

Thunder,

Use what your BIOS accepts as default on initial installation, then test them. If they pass and are ok, then you can play with the timings. Normally your default is the best you will get but not always. This is where the fun begins trying to improve.

Once you begin increasing your speeds, normally the timings will need to be relaxed as shown in my sig with my Patriots. When you change your timings, test them with Memtest86 and a boot disk before entering your operating system.