• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Career Advice in IT -- from some of our 25+ members

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

blueswitch

So yeah I just finished grad school, just moved out to Colorado and I am in the job hunt and becoming very frustrated so I'm looking for advice on how to go about this.

I'm 27, just finished up grad school where I studied IT management.

So far I've been applying to jobs online through career B. and corporate sites and haven't even had a nibble. I feel like even though I can do the job my lack of experience is killing me, even though I do have some it's not the 5+ years of doing this exact job.

How would you guys suggest looking? I've tried to change tactics, I've called places hoping to talk to someone, they just tell me to go to the website, I've tried working with a few headhunters and they just seem to waste my time either with falling off the earth or coming up with jobs I wouldn't have needed to even have a bachelors for. So I'm left with applying online which feels like I keep sailing resumes off into the void.

Any advice is appreciated.

There are two ways that I know to get thru this brick wall:

1. Take an entry level job that is below your skill/training level. Most better jobs are filled from within and never advertised to outsiders. Move up from within.

2. Find a company that wants to train you their way. These companies prefer little or no actual experience that they will have to undo. They want somebody green to learn it their way from the start. Then move up from within.

Over 25? Yes, by quite a bit.

Over 25? Yes, by quite a bit.

Oh I just didn't want some 16 year olds trying to give me their 2 cents on job advice.