• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Should I bother with water?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

djsubsonik

Hello all! I am new to OC Forums, and not all that experienced with OCing.. however i am pretty good with electronics.. i built my own PC back in January and was toying around with the idea of overclocking .. so i upgraded my mobo to the EVGA 680i nForce mobo .. the full size one not the LT .. i was able to start getting my Q6600 up to 1333 FSB with the 9x multiplier making it 3.0GHz .. however while doing that, upping my RAM a tad, and having my tank of a gfx card the 8800GTS 640MB .. its been getting hot in the case..

to try and stop the long-winded intro .. lol.. i will now cut to the chase.. i would like to continue to push the limits of my system, as well as cut down on noise.. would it be a good idea to go with water with the following system specs or not?

Motherboard: EVGA 680i nForce SLI ATX
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
RAM: 4GB Buffalo Firestix (2 of These Dual Channel Kits)
GFX: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
Case: Thermaltake Shark (Black)

I have a Cooler Master UFO that must not be in production anymore because it was removed off of Newegg... also thinking of getting some OCZ SLI RAM that runs stock at ~1250MHz... and then getting a second 8800GTS to do SLI .. which i would think warrant the water cooling?

any thoughts/comments are appreciated?:beer:

BOTHER WITH WATER OR SUFFER DIRE CONSEQUENCES! :D