• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help deciding weither to go external or internal...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Suigyoken

Registered
Hey there... I have two basic questions to ask here; I have a Coolermaster CM 690 case and I plan on using those two water cooling ports on the back in the near future (Preferably when I upgrade to a good dual or quad core) and since the two port holes are made for external cooling, I'd like to know what are some good external water cooling kits out there? Or rather, could I be safe with normal internal water cooling parts just sitting on my desk? This is the desk space including my monitor and such;

s7300113rp7.jpg

Save for cleaning it up I should have plenty of room...

The second question goes, if there aren't any good external kits, does it look like I have enough room for an internal? Here is a screen from inside my case:

s7300112wi6.jpg

Note that soon I'll upgrade to a 8800 so it's going to get a little cramped in there... but for now I'm keeping my wires all out since I'm still doing some small upgrades and not ready to close it up :b but now I just need suggestions if it's a good idea to go out and buy some external kit (However I'm going to get a better waterblock then what they'd offer) or just build my own and try to fit it all in.

Haha a dual rad setup? Now when I have a rad in the top it'll basically defeat the purpose of the two available 140mm fans on the top (Case is well enough ventilated though so it shouldn't matter much) But I'm also under a somewhat budget of spending no more or less then around $130-$170 I'm also going to mainly just cool the CPU which I'm deciding on a nice 1333 FSB dual core (Quad wont be optimized for gaming in a while so why bother?)

I'm with Wayward, that case is BEGGING for an internal setup.