• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

bay reservoir = leak

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

batboy

Senior Moment
I've been running a bay reservoir for a couple of years now. I've heard lots of folks bad mouth them because they claim they crack and leak. Well, they were right. My bay reservoir cracked where the barbs screw in and leaked. Fortunately, I caught it in time before it took out the whole system. It did leak into one of my optical drives and fried it, but that's the only other damage. I replaced it with a Swiftech Microres and I'm back up and running again.

DOH!

At least it was only an optical drive. I just ditched a DD bay res i had in my last build and went back to a T line. I had some issues with one of the barbs not sealing well.

DOH!

At least it was only an optical drive. I just ditched a DD bay res i had in my last build and went back to a T line. I had some issues with one of the barbs not sealing well.

same here, watercooling has fried way too many stuff, and one of them was my drive bay res's fault

Optical drive
Motherboard
7800gt
8800gts

Yikes.. could have been much much worse...

Thats exactly why I use T-lines.

Its not just bays either. I had a WW block with a poly top. After a year or so of running I noticed an anti-freeze odor. Opened my machine to find a pile of cooked liquid on the back of my vid card. Smelled really bad.

Apparently a crack developed where the screws hold the top on. It slowly dripped and cooked on the back of my card.

So yea, bays and poly tops = bad...

I don't know how many times I have discouraged bay reservoirs on here only to be rebuffed. I think they really are a poor design and don't work that well either.