• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bustin' out a Q6600 in a small cube clear acrylic case - assembly pictorial

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pclausen

Registered
I have never done a water cooled rig before but I decided to jump in with both feet and doing one up in one of those Sunbeam clear acrylic cube cases (the UFO).

The parts I'm going to stuff into this small cube are as follows:

Asus P5E-VM HDMI
Q6600
2 x Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
2 x Raptor 150s (configured as a small "enter the Matrix" raid0 boot partition, and a larger raid0 data partition)
LG Hd-DVD/Blu-Ray drive
Corsair 520HX

The cooling system is as follows (also all stuffed inside the cube except for the radiator):

MCP655 Pump
MCRES-MICRO reservoir
Apogee GTX
MCR220
2 x Yate Loon D12SH

I'm expecting the Asus tomorrow (it just got released last week), but while I wait, I went ahead and mounted the radiator and loosley fitted the other items:

Side angle (here you can see the reservoir in the front upper left corner):

q6600angle.jpg

Top (MC655 visible on the "lower level" and of course the CPU block on the "upper level"):

q6600top.jpg

Front (here you can clearly see the "upper level" where the mobo goes, as well as the lower level containing the drives, PS and pump):

q6600front.jpg

Radiator:

q6600radiator.jpg

The fans are about 1.5" away from the back of the case. There is no hole into the case since the PS takes up about 3/4 of that area anyway. I'm a little concerned that the Yate Loon's are going to be restricted a little, but perhaps not?