• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[ASUS P5B-Deluxe/Wifi] - Vcore spikes

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hi all,
I'm new around here and I have a question about this board.

I've been running a conservative stable overclock for many months of 320Mhz fsb with my E6600, resulting in a 2.88Ghz cpu frequency at 1.3Vcore, with the ram on 4:5 resulting in its rated 400Mhz. Recently I decided to see if I could push things a bit further. I've upped my overclock to 400Fsb, with ram on 1:1,and the cpu multiplier set to 8, for cpu frequency of 3.2Ghz and ram remaining at 400Mhz.

So far this has worked quite well, except I now occasionally get vcore spikes, both up and down. The up spikes will reach about 1.8V for a second or so, and the down spikes 0.4, (all voltages as reported by asus pcprobe) again only for a second or so. This happens only under load and even then infrequently, maybe one spike every 2 hours or so. They do not seem to be crashing any programs, and they don't cause Prime95 failure either.

I have experimented with slightly higher vcore settings then my usual 1.3, but that does not seem to make any difference. Temperature wise, I top out at 50° under load for the CPU, and about 32° for the motherboard sensor.

Any idea what could be causing these, and what I can to prevent this?

Ok, I will try with different tools. I was just surprised by this, since I never got these spikes before.

I have run a 10 hour orthos test last night, and that passed just fine. So whatever it is, it does not seem to affect stability.